Missing in Asda

consumion banner small

It looks nice, there is a car park. How inviting…

That Asda store is handy I can buy a soft drink on this sunny day…

asda.jpg

I am not superstitious being a Christian, but I do recognise irony and it was Friday 13th.

I wish to stress that the performance of Asda at Anchor Retail Park I experienced is no reflection on the Anchor Retail Park itself or any other businesses based there. I have been with a friend to another shop on the park in the past (to Currys) and we were fully satisfied.

Asda you have given me an appalling impression of your store and organisation. Not that I have shopped much at Asda’s for decades, because compared to  the supermarkets that I do use, I find Asda stores INCREDIBLY DULL and their prices not special at all, but you have definitely encouraged me to continue going elsewhere.

I called in at the store in London to buy a soft drink on my way by because I was working in London that day. The drink was on offer at £1 (UKP) according to the sign on the shelf. As queues were long I went to the service till to pay. The till operator went away and left a queue of us waiting until we began to comment and talk (cheerfully) among ourselves, and then eventually give up and approach other tills. Another till closed as we approached despite it being busy. The spare member of staff manning the security desk just sat there watching the problems. A robot till user was calling for help but no-one went to help him. Finally I got to the till and was told my drink was not on offer. I took the till assistant  to the shelf (she insisted that the shelf she went to was where the product was, but I then took her to the different shelf where the product actually was) and showed her. She angrily pulled the price ticket off and said that should not be there. I said well your store put it there and I want the goods at the price your store has posted. She grumbled and finally agreed to sell me the item at the posted price. Robot till guy was still calling for help, now in an angry raised voice. Static security assistant guy was still statically observing the chaos. Missing assistants one and two were still missing. I think it took me about 25 minutes to get one carton of drink at the posted price, and to have a customer experience that was about as enjoyable as falling into a thorn bush.

I filled out their online feedback, you can imagine eh?

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 07.51.38.png

The store manager’s name makes a pun – selling. Irony huh.

ticket.jpg

NOTICE: I have not been paid any money or given any inducements by any product manufacturer or store to mention the products or stores featured in this blog article. By completing the Asda customer feedback as I did, I do stand to win £1000 (UKP) in their feedback competition draw (or whatever it is) which would be nice but that’s not why I filled it in, but I would accept the money if I won as hey why not they made my hard day of work feel a tiny bit worse so some money to cheer me up would not be turned away. I hope if I do win however, I can spend it at some other stores than Asda.

consumion banner small

Leave a Reply

